Counting Down To GenCon

The weekend is almost here and I can’t wait! This Friday I will be attending another Next Indiana Campfires event, which marries literature, nature and the Indiana Bicentennial. Then on Saturday, I get to go to GenCon in Indianapolis!

I made it to the Next Indiana Campfires event in my home community, which was hosted by the Syracuse-Wawasee Trail, and enjoyed a roughly 5-mile hike around Syracuse Lake, drinking in nature and several piece of poetry from Indiana poets. I also had the good fortune of meeting Indiana’s current poet laureate, Shari Wagner, who was the facilitator for that event.

I enjoyed the event so much that when I saw they were hosting a walk in Prophetstown State Park near my alma mater, I had to sign up. Along the way, I enlisted my brother and sister-in-law to join me — the more the merrier, right? Once again, Wagner will be the facilitator, but I’m hopeful that she will have a brand-new selection of poems to go with the landscape of Prophetstown. Another perk to this particular excursion? Two words: campfire dinner! Yum!

Somehow, we (my brother, sister-in-law and myself) will then be getting up early to head on over to Indy and GenCon. While they hit up the games, I will be attending seven writing seminars: The Pros & Cons of Electronic and Self-publishing; Inside Publishing; The Role of Agents; Representing Unconscious Character Motivation; Structuring Life to Support Creativity; Selling Your Stories to the World; and Maintaining Mystery Without Losing Your Audience. Needless to say, I’m super excited. I had made room for personal development in my writing business plan for 2017, so I am getting a head start, but the opportunity just fell into place. Stay tuned because I plan to share what I learn!

Is anyone else heading to GenCon and planning to attend some of the writer seminars?

Categories: Personal | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

